When to make splits??

Hey guys. Just after a bit of advice. Was thinking of making a few splits from 2 of my 4 hives. I'll hopefully have a few queen cells to graft into them as well, speeding up the process... but when is the latest you'd advise to make splits? Someone told me recently that I wouldn't want to be making any splits after now, that my hives would be left too weak for winter. But I had thought they'd still have plenty of time to sort themselves out for winter and I'm prepared to feed them through winter if needed...

Any advice much appreciated as I'm just starting out

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

You’ll be surprised how big a colony will be by October. Most common time for swarming season to start is October thru December. you can plan to split when sufficient drones are in hives to fly a

Size of colony is only one factor when it comes to swarming, Queen running out of laying space is a big one (imo), your colonies could just as easily swarm as anyone else.  If you split for swarm cont

Any advice much appreciated as I'm just starting out

Pay attention to the nectar and pollen coming in. In many areas this year the flow is reduced or non existent. That's not good news for weak colonies. @Trevor Gillbanks is spot on.

I have a few late swarms here that would normally build-up naturally for winter. But this year they will probably need significant Autumn feeding to set them up for next spring.

I have two strong hives, one with last year's autum queen.

I also have 2 nucs which I am running with this years queens.

I will choose the best New queen and combine my hives so I have 2 strong hives for winter.

I have learnt from experience that 2 strong hives at the end of winter is better than 4 sick weak ones.

• Like 2