Hi, my husband and I have purchased our first hive. We have a few beekeeping friends who have inspected it and advised us that the next step is to purchase a nucleus...We live in Kinloch Taupo and would appreciate any advice as to where or whom we can purchase from, or if there are any swarms?

Kind regards

Iggy

I would talk to John Carter from the Taupo Bee Club, PM for his details. I don't think he would appreciate me putting his number here.

I would talk to John Carter from the Taupo Bee Club, PM for his details. I don't think he would appreciate me putting his number here.

Thank you Kiwimana - but I'm new to this and don't know how to PM on this...

I'm meeting John tomorrow night at a beekeeping meeting , very excited and once again thank you for the help...

you would be well advised to avoid buying any hives out of Taupo township right now.

It is struggling with AFB as publicised in the local news paper

you would be well advised to avoid buying any hives out of Taupo township right now.

It is struggling with AFB as publicised in the local news paper

Oh no...I've already bought one...:eek:I will be vigilant in checking the hive!!!;)

Oh no...I've already bought one...:eek:I will be vigilant in checking the hive!!!;)

Will make for an interesting decision come time to add your flow frames. Could turn into an expensive bonfire.

Will make for an interesting decision come time to add your flow frames. Could turn into an expensive bonfire.

What's your next Aliexpress purchase???;)

Taupo beekeeper starting Taupo Bee Club to help fight American Foul Brood disease

You contacted me about a Nuc but didn't follow it up.

Maybe it was a bit rich for you?

This beek that sold you your Nuc had a duty of care to disclose the urban Taupo.

Myself and a Taupo breeder have both found multiple AFB cases in Urban Taupo

What's your next Aliexpress purchase???;)

Yeah, nah! Even the copies are expensive.