NZBF A practical course sheet you could tick off yourself as a newish beekeeper

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

For someone like me, that's a very helpful list. I'm not going to be keeping bees ever (honestly), but its all good for my understanding of things.

• Like 2

LOL, I'm in my third year now and I have never let a bee walk on my bare hand. Nor have I ever marked my queens. But I will be able to tick off the varroa bits this spring, I guess.:(

• Like 1

That's a good checklist. Some I will be doing this year. Don't actually own any bees yet, but doing the theory bit at present, and have two offers of mentoring once I do. And before, from one of them.

I like what you have put forward for your 2 hour intro. It covers what I had been thinking of. Some you think as natural to know, although until you get involved it wouldn't occur to think of them.

Good job(y).

• Like 1
  • 1 year later...
Number 4 .... How could you do that without screaming ?

One of the best feelings in the world is putting your hand inside a bee swarm. It is something I like to do when there are spectators around. It show the people that the bees are not interested in killing anyone.

• Like 1

related to andyk comment, one thing missing from the list and absolutely vital to beginners, is how to put on protective clothing properly.

• Like 4

Number 4 is not so bad...agree with Trevor....we had quite a few of my bees (knew they were mine because I recognised them!!! ;)) in the house over summer, for some reason...use to let them crawl onto my hand and take them outside...biggest issue was getting them off said hand..took a good shake sometimes...but never felt in any danger...

• Like 1
LOL, I'm in my third year now and I have never let a bee walk on my bare hand. Nor have I ever marked my queens. But I will be able to tick off the varroa bits this spring, I guess.:(

Janice,