Help with inspecting my hives Canterbury

Hey guys im new to bee keeping and iv caught a few swarms, so far i havnt seen any disease and hives apear to be healthy but im fairly new to it all and would rather a check from a well trained eye. Im based in geraldine in canterbury and i was wondering if any one would be interested in having a look through my hives with me?

• Like 1
  • Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hey guys im new to bee keeping and iv caught a few swarms, so far i havnt seen any disease and hives apear to be healthy but im fairly new to it all and would rather a check from a well trained eye. Im based in geraldine in canterbury and i was wondering if any one would be interested in having a look through my hives with me?

More importantly, have your hives been inspected for AFB this Spring? It's a legal requirement that all hives are inspected between 1 Aug and 30 Nov each year. You can find more in the AFB Pest Management Plan. I've attached the relevant section below.

IMG_0230.JPG.2df24bda3004f0ab6d49a065e2c0e7d6.JPG

You must have been beekeeping for at least a year before applying for a DECA. So I'm guessing you'll need another beekeeper to do your inspection. There's a list of approved beekeepers on the AFB agency website List of COI Inspectors for Non DECA Holders

If you need more info please ask. Then again, if your hives have already been inspected and your COI completed, please disregard.

IMG_0230.JPG.2df24bda3004f0ab6d49a065e2c0e7d6.JPG

• Like 1
More importantly, have your hives been inspected for AFB this Spring? It's a legal requirement that all hives are inspected between 1 Aug and 30 Nov each year. You can find more in the AFB Pest Management Plan. I've attached the relevant section below.

[ATTACH]15795[/ATTACH]