GumbootGirl

NZBF Painting Hives..?

Hi all - I'm a total newbie, waiting for my hives to arrive in the post so I can set them up and fill them with bees. Just wondering is there a specific paint I should use, or anything to avoid? Obviously no colours too dark because I don't want to cook them but does anyone have advice other than that?? Thanks

The specific paint typically required by beekeepers is characterised by a number of traits:

1. usually free/leftover

2. a random tint or more likely, mistaken tint

3. not pinched from an artist's easel (ie is an outdoor paint)

4. is free

Make friends with a commercial painter - they usually have tons of random paints left over from jobs

• Like 1

The specific paint typically required by beekeepers is characterised by a number of traits:

1. usually free/leftover

2. a random tint or more likely, mistaken tint

3. not pinched from an artist's easel (ie is an outdoor paint)

4. is free

Make friends with a commercial painter - they usually have tons of random paints left over from jobs

Hahaha thank you! But it would appear I'm one of those "special" ones that wants a flash new castle for their girls to live in. I went and got new paint so I could have a funky colour scheme (on the farm account, of course!) and then thought uh-oh, I hope this is ok to use! Sounds like it'll be fine

I went and got new paint so I could have a funky colour scheme (on the farm account, of course!) and then thought uh-oh, I hope this is ok to use! Sounds like it'll be fine

Couple weeks ago I faced this question, went through many forums/blogs/etc and finally I merged the gazillion opinions and suggestions to two basic things. The paint should be

- free or as cheap as it is possible

- for outdoor use

Everything else is just for the show :) Apparently if you have 1 or 2 hives you go for the colour so you spend actual money on paint (I did too :)

Have you seen those cool stencils @Trevor Gillbanks sells? Looks awesome!