Bee journalist

Your personal experiences with "manuka-madness"

Hello to all you NZ beekeepers,

I’m a journalist from the German bee-journal (Deutsches Bienen-Journal) in Berlin and currently working on an article about the so called Manuka-crisis in New Zealand. I researched a lot and already talked to some members of Apicultural NZ about overstocking farm sites and local beekeepers being pushed out of their areas from bigger companies. But we really like to give our readers some firsthand experiences by local beekeepers affected by the developments. So we would be glad if you have a personal story to tell and are willing to share it with our readers. In Germany we had no Idea of this situation until reading an open letter from John Berry in Bee Culture. So we really want to address this subject. We won’t state your name if you wish to stay anonymous. I hope it is okay to make such demands in this forum, but for the article I really like to give an insight on what is happening on local beekeepers-level. Unfortunately I can’t come to New Zealand myself (love to see the country one time though) so this seemed like a good possibility for investigation and to get some experiences form persons concerned.

Here are some of the problems I would like to accompany with personal experiences/stories in the article:

- Beekeepers pushed from their land, maybe even being threatened

- Beekeepers loosing hives due to overstocking or poisoning

- Fishy methods of other beekeepers wanting to put their hives in your neighbourhood

- Beekeepers , who are no longer able to pay high prices to landowners for putting their hives there

- Or maybe you had some positive experiences and even benefited from these changes

Is the hype about Manuka and problems involved pushed by the media or is it really an ongoing problem for New Zealand beekeepers (especially hobbyist beekeepers)? Please excuse my bad English-skills. I hope you get what I'm trying to ask.