Genaya

NZBF Buying Mite Away quick strips

Hi team, I'm wanting to do a MAQS treatment on my hive, looking to buy some online I can only see a pack of 25 on Ekrotec. I'm only a hobbyist so that amount seems a lot, especially as I want to rotate the treatment types. What is the shelf life of this product? Can anyone tell me if I can purchase less somewhere?

Thanks

Ecrotek also have 10 packs. It has a 12 month shelf life from packing. You do not need to rotate treatments if you use MAQS. Make sure you ask them what the expiry date is before you buy.

Have a look at my video

• Like 3

Hi @Genaya - I bought a 10-treatment pack of MAQS from Ecrotek a little while back for $86.87 + GST, however, you may be able to buy only what you need from your local beekeepers club. Formic acid doesn't degrade or expire, it is the outer paper wrap of the MAQS that starts to degrade post the 12-month expiration date. Ecrotek suggested I keep the MAQS in the freezer - it doesn't extend the expiration date, but it will keep the strips in a stable state for a short period of time. Hope that helps!

• Like 4

Ecrotek also have 10 packs. It has a 12 month shelf life from packing. You do not need to rotate treatments if you use MAQS. Make sure you ask them what the expiry date is before you buy.

Have a look at my video

[media]

[/media]

Thanks for that Trevor. Yes, I watched that clip this morning. Great info, thanks for your efforts!

Hi @Genaya - I bought a 10-treatment pack of MAQS from Ecrotek a little while back for $86.87 + GST, however, you may be able to buy only what you need from your local beekeepers club. Formic acid doesn't degrade or expire, it is the outer paper wrap of the MAQS that starts to degrade post the 12-month expiration date. Ecrotek suggested I keep the MAQS in the freezer - it doesn't extend the expiration date, but it will keep the strips in a stable state for a short period of time. Hope that helps!

Thanks @JayBee, I will look for the 10 pack now!