Do I add a honey super or not

I'm a beginner beekeeper with a single brood box, do I add a honey super or do I add another brood box so the hive can grow?

My bees have been in the single full deep brood box for 3 weeks now, there are 4 frames of brood mixed with pollen and honey, they have drawn out 2 new frames of foundation either side of the brood area, 4 remaining frames aren't drawn yet, but have started.

There is a noticeable increase or new bee in the hive as its been over 21 days since I got the swarm nuc.

My question is - at some stage soon I will need to put another box on, should it be a honey super or another full deep brood box? Is it common to put a honey super on a single brood box or do you wait until you have 2 brood boxes full of bees?

My inexperienced thinking is I should put a full deep brood box on and let the colony expand and let the bees store honey in it and not to bother concentrating on honey yet!

Any other thoughts would be great.

Cheers

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

When I started I went to a double full brood system. I think it's easier for a beginner to swarm manage this setupz then you can decide if you want to switch to single next year after you've gained some experience.

Welcome BTW.

• Like 1

Looks like you're in the same position as me almost. Take a look at this thread especially towards the end with my posts. NZBF: - Adding a second brood box

Infact if you look at my post history you might find it useful, I don't have any advice since I'm as new as you, but I did ask a billion questions that will probably be relevent to you. Save yourself looking as silly as I did! :D