I am very new to beekeeping having purchased my first nucleus a week or two before Christmas .

It was suggested that because of the poor weather that I transfer the nucleus to a full depth box and continue to feed the colony with sugar syrup which i have done without any issues (at the time the weather was very poor) . On inspection of the hive over the weekend I found the initial 5 empty frames had been almost totally drawn out with wax right to the outside frame and the population of drones and workers appeared to be very healthy and plentiful from my in experienced eye.

Researching the subject online it was recommended to place another brood box on top of the existing brood box to allow for the expansion of the colony when the comb was drawn to 80%.

My question is should I have placed this second brood box on and is this what you would recommend a novice to do , also once this second brood box is 80% full (unsure how long this will take) presuming this happens this year would I then need to put a 3/4 super with queen excluder or would I allow for the bees to completely fill the brood boxes first.

Thanks for your advice

• Replies 96
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Welcome along @BuzzOBumble,

As a beginner it may be easier to manage a double brood box, however if you put an excluder on and add the super as 'honey super' your girls will fill it with honey for you and them. They are probably making stores already. You can always turn it into a double brood at a later date. Just check that there are no queen cells either on the frames or under them, look hard cos they're sneaky!!!

If your brood box contains a lot of honey only frames you could move one or two up into the super to encourage them up. Try not to take too much pollen. Then you can replace the frames with some foundation for the bees to draw for the queen to lay into. (I wouldn't do anymore than two).