Swarm produced comb but then majority of bees vanished, why?

Firstly I'm new to bees, ignorance is not an excuse :) Need peoples input on what happened, what I could have done as I haven't been able to find a good answer as to what happened... other than swarming after creating comb in top bar. Why, no idea, close to a stream, sun all day, native trees in flower and pasture land at their door step.

I collected the swarm and placed into a top bar hive at the end of October. Things looked good with comb being formed (pre-waxed bars) and a good amount of room. After about 5 bars which was about 3 weeks a single supercedure cell starting in mid way down and on edge of comb. Within about a week of seeing this the bee numbers dropped and the supercedure cell had vanished. The bees don't have the vigor now. Some capped honey and nectar being packed away along with some pollen.

Someone is bringing a couple of bars of brood, bees etc over to see if we can get them to sort themselves out... but interested to understand why this happened. Is this just one of those things, or something I did?

I've since heard of another person who has the same issue.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Was there any good worker brood in the comb that had been build (not obvious from your description). If not my guess would be that the swarm had a virgin queen that never managed to get mated properly. No new bees will mean the colony goes backwards pretty quick.

• Like 3

Possibly a queen less swarm taken over by drone layers. The queen cup you saw May have been a practice queen cup, but with no queen laying, they could take it no further. When you add the brood frames, I would dump each frame of bees a little way from the hive so the drone layers don't make it back

The thing with dumping bees away from the hive is if you do that you lose any young house or nurse bees you may have which is not a good thing.