How much pollen ?

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Very little for me, yet there is still some gorse/broom around. Most of it seems to be dark, so perhaps off fruit trees.

I'm having to feed too as the honey reserves are going down not up. Signs on the student hives last week of the risk of starvation for those that weren't fed.

You guys are frightening me. My hives still have capped honey so I figured they would be fine without feeding at the moment. There seems to be quite a lot of pollen coming in as well, except that the weather has been so wet and then so windy that they can't get out as much as they should. But it's my first year with hives at home, so I can't compare. Our berry bushes and fruit trees are covered in much more fruit this year, which I put down to my hard-working girls.

I dont think you can call it generally. Each hive is different. My hives at home, some 3km from school are in a better situation and I know hives closer to the city are overflowing with honey at the moment, so its definitely not something you can call on a provincial scale let alone a national one.

Marcia, do you have uncapped larvae in the hive or has your hive recently swarmed and re-queened? I ask because you will notice an increase in packed pollen stored around the hive whenever the hive goes through a broodless period. Nurse bees feed pollen to larvae and the foragers will keep bringing it in regardless. If there are no larvae to eat it, the pollen will be packed into frames for later use. My bees bring pollen in all year round and I often replace at least one frame of densely packed pollen in each hive each spring. Pollen tends to mouldy over winter and the bees need the space.

• Like 1