Dave Black

Selecting breeding stock

Is that a recommended practice to breed off a hive that can survive a high mite count.

The number of times we hear it, you would think so, but who among us has their queen rearing sufficiently 'sorted' to make varroa tolerance the primary goal? Just to remind us all of what the goals might be raising queens here are a dozen of mine, deliberately in no particular order:

Fecundity

Industrious

Longevity

Winter and/or spring development

Comb Building and cappings

Lack of swarming

Pollen collection

Temper

Calm on the combs

Light use of propolis

Drifting and orientation

Disease tolerant

I'm not an expert, but that's how I judge a queen, and yes, all these attributes can be selected for. I have not included varroa tolerance', deliberately.

Now 'selected' is the operative word. I don't recall anyone here using AI, so the basic principle is, make a load of queens, cull out the rubbish, and repeat. SO the other important word is 'testing'. If you're not testing, you're not selecting.

I'm interested to know, especially from those of you that do this on some scale, if we were to make a 'top five' what would the order of importance be, and if we drop some to 'insert' varroa tolerance, which do we drop?

• Like 4

My top five would be,

gentleness,

honey production,

calm on the comb,

non swarming,

Big Fat Yellow Drones :)

Disease tolerant isn't really something I would select for because the queens would be snuffed if they had any issues and would not get past 1st base so to speak.

I would like to add another thats important for us and thats hygenic behavior.

Initially it's often what the bottom board looks like on our first spring inspection followed by a pin prick test which is not as good as nitrogen but it's what we do.

• Like 3

I just select for good temperament and good production. To big a wish list doesn't happen for small guys like me.