Urvashi

Unitec student bee and ant research project invitation

Dear Sir / Madame,

My name is Urvashi Lallu; I am a student at Unitec in Auckland. I am in my third and last year of my Degree in Bachelor of Applied Sciences.

I am conducting a research project for my third year thesis on behalf of Key Industries and Unitec.

The research project is being conducted through a survey which looks at the perceptions of apiarists on the impact of ant presence in beehives and how ants affect hives. There are currently no studies in New Zealand that look at bee/ant interactions, and little is known about how apiarists perceive ants as a threat to their bee colonies.

It's important to reach as many apiarists as possible in order to gather adequate data. Your participation would be most warmly appreciated.

What is involved?

With your permission, I will send out a short survey together with collection vials (if needed) along with a postage paid return envelope. .

For this survey to go ahead I will need contact details of all apiarists who might be willing to participate, so I can send out the survey pack. Your participation in this study will help inform the New Zealand beekeeping community on how best to manage invasive ant species in our beehives.

Please contact me via email: urvashi.lallu@gmail.com

Or by phone: 027 2524278

My supervisor’s email address –Graham Jones (Lecturer and Programme Leader of the Natural Sciences Department at Unitec): gjones@unitec.ac.nz

• Like 2

Hhmmmm, I wonder if Argentine ants eat varroa ???

• Like 1

Wouldn't varroa treatment be hazardous to ants? We hardly have ants down here anyway and I have not seen them in hives.

Dear Sir / Madame,

My name is Urvashi Lallu; I am a student at Unitec in Auckland. I am in my third and last year of my Degree in Bachelor of Applied Sciences.

I am conducting a research project for my third year thesis on behalf of Key Industries and Unitec.