Two brood boxes rapidly filling but going away for four weeks, what's the next step?

Complete novice here... I've started my first hive about two weeks ago starting with a five frame Nuk. The first box rapidly filled in about eight days so added a second box which is rapidly filling too. On my first inspection of the first box I found a mite and because I am about to go away on holiday for four weeks I opted to insert some Bayvarol strips in both boxes. My concern now is that the two boxes will be completely full in a short time and I'll be away. What should I do? Do I put a honey super with queen restricter on to accommodate the overflow? If so will the content of the super be unusable because of the Bayvarol strips below?

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

If it were my hive I'd leave the strips in, and let the bees keep all the honey they gather. (It's generally not a good idea to have treatment in place while honey is being gathered if the honey is to

Your situation sounds similar to something my wife and I ran into during our first year with bees.  Keep in mind, we are northern hemisphere, so months will sound incorrect for you in the upside down

welcome to beekeeping @8 Stings. Well done spotting the mites and treating for them. The honey collected will be able to be used by your bees over winter. Its not usual to get a harvest from a nu

welcome to beekeeping @8 Stings. Well done spotting the mites and treating for them.

The honey collected will be able to be used by your bees over winter. Its not usual to get a harvest from a nuc at this stage- the hive will need all they can store. Also, I assume your bees are drawing out foundation, so that will reduce the crop. As the hive population grows, they will consume more. By all means add another box (excluder your choice).

And be sure there will be others with different opinions...That's beekeeping.

• Agree 1