Leftover Honey from Winter / Varroa Treatment

Hello,

I’m new to beekeeping and only started last year. I brought my hives so far successful through the winter months. I left them quite a bit honey from the previous summer.

Now I checked my hives again because I wanted to start and treat for varroa. 

I noticed that there is still quite a lot of honey left in the box above the brood box. (roughly 20kg) - Now I’m wondering if this honey can be harvested prior to treating with varroa (treating with Apivar it says to not treat when honey super is on). Or will it be fine to harvest this around Christmas after the Varroa treatment period (even though not recommended due to varroa treatment).

Would be great to hear back about this.

Thanks a lot.

• Like 1
  • Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Excess honey ......  I'd be inclined to make sure the brood  has four or five frames of honey to see them through to a new flow ..... any excess honey ,s tore it in the shed. If you need more feed bec

Restrictions on harvesting honey that has been collected while Varroa treatments are in the hive mostly apply to those wanting to sell their honey, especially to high-end markets in China, Europe etc.

Hello,   I’m new to beekeeping and only started last year. I brought my hives so far successful through the winter months. I left them quite a bit honey from the previous summer. Now I

Restrictions on harvesting honey that has been collected while Varroa treatments are in the hive mostly apply to those wanting to sell their honey, especially to high-end markets in China, Europe etc.