anyone figured out updated GREX and 2kg small parcels overseas??

I just read through the updated GREX and still no the wiser if I can send a couple of jars of honey overseas to family.  I'm a RMP operator listed to extract/pack etc for EU etc but we are  not Exporters. 

Grex definition of export is    export means conveying bee products overseas for reward or for the purposes of trade;, so I assume that me wanting to send parcel of honey to family as a gift is not an export.   

But later on in the GREX document 4.5.3 When a transfer document is not required. states that 

(3) A transfer document is not required for parcels of bee products that are sent from a premise to a postal or courier service, providing all the following requirements are met:

a) the parcel is less than or equal to 2 kilograms in weight

b) addressed to a private individual

c) be clearly labelled on the outside with the Exporter ID and business address of the exporter

d) clearly labelled on the outside with either of the following:

i) the unique batch number and product identification of the honey being exported; or

ii) the source transfer document number of the honey being exported.

I can meet (a), (b) & (d) i, but as I'm not listed as an Exporter on the MPI Exporter Register, does this still mean that only the very few can send overseas.

thanks

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Uh huh ...... we had a big discussion with MPI last week.   The outcome was that the left hand wasn't quite sure what the right hand was doing, and that the whole shemozzle is a work in progress.

If you only do one or two batches a year, just pick one of those.  I guess the business address of the exporter in this instance would be your home address.  Try your apiary registration number as you