Alastair

Welder Question

This question is for any expert welders out there.

I'm a reasonably good arc welder but have never done MIG or TIG. However I'm about to make a trailer modification and looking to buy a MIG welder to do the job. After I buy the welder I'll have to figure out how to use it.

Am looking at this one. Yes it's a cheapy but it is uneconomic to go the whole hog and pay thousands for a professional one. And I only have single phase power. So will this one be adequate for working on a trailer, welding up to 5 mm plate? It will have to be good strong welds.

https://www.bestdeals.co.nz/online-all-in-one-dc-inverter-welder-mig-mag-tig-arc-mma-gas-gasless-2t-4t-welding-23881.html?aid=1001&gclid=Cj0KCQjwyur0BRDcARIsAEt86IB-aGGqG3zcxlgCLjD4kbhwBTaHba9d577uiL7b98h6-9sqlqW05QUaAr6dEALw_wcB

Posted (edited)
21 minutes ago, Alastair said:

I'm a reasonably good arc welder but have never done MIG or TIG. However I'm about to make a trailer modification and looking to buy a MIG welder to do the job. After I buy the welder I'll have to figure out how to use it.

Am looking at this one. Yes it's a cheapy but it is uneconomic to go the whole hog and pay thousands for a professional one. And I only have single phase power. So will this one be adequate for working on a trailer, welding up to 5 mm plate? It will have to be good strong welds.

https://www.bestdeals.co.nz/online-all-in-one-dc-inverter-welder-mig-mag-tig-arc-mma-gas-gasless-2t-4t-welding-23881.html?aid=1001&gclid=Cj0KCQjwyur0BRDcARIsAEt86IB-aGGqG3zcxlgCLjD4kbhwBTaHba9d577uiL7b98h6-9sqlqW05QUaAr6dEALw_wcB

short answer is no. its a fake.

why not just use a stick welder?

its far more suitable for the job. you know how to use it. no bottles of gas etc.

if you havn't got one, there plenty of ok inverter stick welders for a lot less than that crappy mig.

Edited by tristan
  • Like 1
  • Agree 1