Margot C

New caledonian vet willing to get beekeeping experience in NZ

Hi there,

I am a vet working at the bee disease surveillance network in New Caledonia and I am coming to the North island of New Zealand in February.

I am keen on working for one month in a beekeeping operation to discover different beekeeping practices ! I am not an experienced beekeeper as in my work I focus mainly on the sanitary aspect of beekeeping (I only have one hive in my garden, so I am examining hives belonging to other beekeepers or to our network of sentinel hives more often than mine), but I am eager to get hands on and gain some more practical experience !

New Caledonia has a small and growing beekeeping sector : around 700 beekeepers and 12.000 hives. We do not have varroa but we do have problems with AFB and european foul brood as well...

I would feel favored to practice beekeeping in a different environment as well as learn how you deal with varroa and AFB in NZ...

I have put my email address in my profile, so please feel free to contact me directly !

Cheers, 

Margot

• Like 2

Do you have the correct visa to allow you to work while here?

Hi Grant,

I didn't picture this as working but more as sharing experience. So I haven't applied for a working holiday visa... But I guess I still could if the beekeeper who welcome me wants me to have one.

Cheers !

Margot

I think that would be down to immigration, not the beekeeper, but I'm having difficulties finding information due to you being an FOT. Please check first with immigration to see what the requirements are, as we can be quite strict on entry for anything other than tourism.

9 hours ago, Margot C said:

Hi Grant,

I didn't picture this as working but more as sharing experience. So I haven't applied for a working holiday visa... But I guess I still could if the beekeeper who welcome me wants me to have one.

Cheers !

Margot

Sabbatical might be the way to put it to Immigration 

• Agree 1