Markypoo

NZBF Requeening - how often, when?

So as a newbie, I have now got over the reluctance to squish a queen and replace her. How often should I replace queens? Pop a new one in each spring, or make new queens in feb/march, after the main flow has finished so the hive has a new queen going into autumn. Or buy one then when they are easier to get hold of, which is again late summer? Requeening in autumn/late summer seems to be the easiest option to me and should still give a relatively young queen to get going in spring.

I banked a couple of queens in nucs over winter, which was useful when a mate needed one.

I got myself in trouble with one hive, as I left the queen in far too long. She was my best producing hive by far. I got 2 winters out of her and they decided to supercede in August, before there many drones around, or even warm enough temperatures. A month before I had planned to split the hive. Though luckily I had a spare sitting a nuc which went in okay, but I am kicking myself for not making new queens out her when I had the chance.

I replace mainly for temper or poor performance . 

My hives supercede quite regularly which seems to work ok . 

The exception to that is if the hive is poor when it supercedes, it seldom produces a better queen so your better to give them a hand 

• Like 1

I guess I am worried that in spring I may not be able to tell the difference between supercedure or swarming.

Oh I remove supercedure cells in swarm season all the way up to the honey flow .

You are correct not to trust them 

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

39 minutes ago, Markypoo said:

I guess I am worried that in spring I may not be able to tell the difference between supercedure or swarming.

Swarm cells are mostly on or near the bottom of the frames or on the edge of a damaged piece of comb, there will be heaps of them.

supersedure cells are normally on the face of the comb and there will only a few. 

2 hours ago, nikki watts said: