Boyesee

NZBF Hive started to swarm then went back inside?

I have a second hive that Today started to swarm. There were a large number of bees flying around outside hive and then big number clumped in front of hive and at entrance. 

they then calmed down and started going back into the hive. 

I decided to have a look inside and saw 5 frames of drawn Comb with 2 that had either nectar or capped honey. 3 frames had a mixture of nectar or capped brood. (I made this hive from a split a week ago) 

there was a capped queen cell on one brood frame but no eggs that I could see and I couldn’t see a queen.  

Is it possible I have a virgin queen already in the hive?

is it best to leave hive for 10 days and then see if any eggs? I don’t understand why the looked like they were swarming but then went back into hive. 

any help much appreciated as I am pretty new to this. 

Hives will also do this when their virgin queen is flying to be mated .

My nucs are outside the kitchen window and I can tell when the queen is out by their behaviour . 

Not sure what’s going on with yours though with a cell still in there .

How did you make the split ? 

Edited by M4tt

23 minutes ago, M4tt said:

Hives will also do this when their virgin queen is flying to be mated .

My nucs are outside the kitchen window and I can tell when the queen is out by their behaviour . 

Not sure what’s going on with yours though with a cell still in there .

How did you make the split ? 

My other hive which is about a meter away from the split has now got very active and I just spotted a queen fly into this one. Is it possible the queen would return to the wrong hive?

i made the original split when first hive swarmed and took 3 frames of brood out and put into new hive along with a queen cell. 

1 minute ago, Boyesee said: