Carol2

Best Varroa practice?

I'm a  keen amateur 8 years of hive ownership. (4 hives) The multiplicity of opinions on varroa control leave me unsettled. Can I ask here what you really successful commercial beekeepers are doing to control varroa? Here is my story.

Hello. I'm new to this excellent forum and idea sharing. Keen beekeeper for 8 years. I well know that Varroa control is absolutely vital. I have used Bav, Api, Oxi dribble, Oxi towels.

From Autumn 2019 (last chem treatment was winter /spring of 2018)  I have only used OA staples 60--40% ratio. My hives are roaring ahead. Mite count on alcohol was 1 month ago was 3/250 bees although I found mites in the wash so very hard to see. 

But what is best practice now? Do I keep staples in 100% of the year? Do I mix with Chemical treatments. Do I pull staples out and leave hives untreated until end of feb ? I know there is huge varying opinion but ,for example, what are the best commercial beekeepers doing successfully re varroa. I need best practice laid out for me to follow as I'm a simple soul

I treat by the calendar in spring and autumn using conventional treatments. I do very little monitoring apart from visually checking drone brood and I have lost very few hives to varoa. It costs a lot of money  but it works, unfortunately it will not be sustainable in the long term because the treatments will stop working. I have tried thymol products in the past and found them wanting. Formic acid may be organic but it sure ain't safe and as soon as I can buy a registered oxalic acid treatment with standard recommendations for treatment I will try some. Last year I used a breeder showing reasonable resistance to varoa and I like to think selection for tolerance will be the answer in the long-term.

• Like 1

I can’t put myself in the category of the ‘best commercial beekeepers’ and I never will be because I’m a simple hobbiest ,  but that’s not important .