MadDad

Question Bee space and frame spacing in a box

Question

Good day all, 

I am just getting into the bee scene, been reading and researching for the last 18 months to make sure this is something I would like to do. I have decided to build my own bee boxes and the way I am getting my bees is to trap a swarm, my swarm trap is ready to go and was starting to build my boxes from 19mm ply that was free. I know there is thoughts of buying your boxes being more cost effective and easier etc. I am currently attending a bee club (yet to join as a member) and looking for a mentor, have also obtained my equipment for this beeautiful hobby. I enjoy doing stuff for myself and building things which gives me a better idea of the situation and environment, that way I know why and what I am getting myself into. So the question.......

I have many plans to build langstroth hive boxes, some sourced, some converted from imperial but few of 8 frame plans. I am looking at going down the 8 frame 3/4 depth for all my boxes, but this question will probably cover all box configurations in the langstroth hives design. I cut the sides of my first two boxes and laid my home made frames from my swarm trap onto the one side just to confirm I am on the right track, which is when I came up with this question.