Hi folks, 

I'm a beginner beekeeper and purchased a single box hive at the beginning of winter. 

I checked it for the first time today and didn't observe any brood, capped or uncapped, and marginal amounts of pollen. There was some capped honey at the edges of the outer frames but not a lot. It seemed that many cells were completely empty and I couldn't see any eggs. I also didn't see a queen or any drones. 

So, a couple of questions:

Should there be brood present during this time of year? 

Could it be that the hive is now queenless, and if so, what do I do and how quickly do I need to do it? 

Apologies, a complete novice here. 

Many thanks in advance, 

Anna 

I would normally expect at least some brood by this time of year but it is considerably colder in Southland and it's possible that the Queen is not laying yet. I had one hive yesterday that had just started to lay .How many bees were there, i.e. how me frames were completely covered in bees. It is possible to tell a queenless hive from a queenright hive with experience but it is not one of the easier beekeeping tasks. If the hive is queenless then given the time of year there is not really much you can do to save it other than joining it on to another hive.If the hive are still reason is strong with at least four or five frames of bees you could try giving it a litre or two of warm sugar syrup. If that doesn't make it lay within one week then you have a queenless hive.

• Like 2
  • Good Info 1

Hi Anna 

Winter is the hardest season to get beee through alive . 

Im not sure what bees do in Southland at this time of the year, but I believe they should have brood , or very close to it . 

I imagine your observations are correct and your hive is queenless 

How many bees are in there ? As in , when you open it and look down on the frames , what do you see . Bees covering 2 frames , 5, or 10 

• Like 1

Don’t loose hope, I lost my first hive over winter due to thinking all summer about it.