BeeKindNZ

Help Please - Bee Repellent?

I have a 7 year old grandson with a chronic allergy to bee stings. He has to have an adult with him at all times trained in the use of an epipen. He always ends up in hospital . I know that he’s not alone in having this problem. However I wonder how common it is that he has bees actually pursuing him to sting him? Even in the middle of winter one will appear from nowhere and just follow him and only him. I’m a farmer and I find  this odd. He’s had 8 stings in the past 18 months. He has been for some time undergoing a desensitization programme which so far hasn’t worked very well. He’s just been in hospital for another 2 days this week.

I wonder  if you could please help by suggesting any bee repellent that works and wouldn’t be harmful to a child? Thank you in advance. 

• Sad 2

The colour blue tends to attract bees so avoiding that may help a little bit.. I once had bees on the farm and for a while the bees were attacking  one of the children for no apparent reason. I eventually tracked it down to the parents using apple shampoo which bees hate  and cause any bee that gets close enough to smell it to attack. There may be other shampoos, deodorants soaps et cetera that have the same effect.

I learned about apple shampoo  the hard way and now and never use any scented product.

• Good Info 1

Fume board cologne?

I’ve seen mention of peppermint before, and that comes up repeatedly when googling, though I have no experience with it.

What a horrible problem.

12 hours ago, BeeKindNZ said: