Maggie James

QUEEN CELL PRODUCTION POWERPOINT TUTORIALS FOR PRODUCING LARGE NUMBERS OF QUALITY QUEEN CELLS

Hello Beekeepers

Twenty five years ago, loving the outdoors I struck on the idea of having a beehive as a hobby, and then I dived into beekeeping with gusto!  I studied at Telford via correspondence.  In those days Telford also offered a queen bee rearing certificate, so once I completed the apiculture knowledge cert, I launched into queen rearing studies.  To complete my queen rearing cert, I was required to be at Telford for 8 weeks, and during this time there was major emphasis on stock selection, grafting techniques and artificial insemination. 

Back home, my first customer enquiry to buy queen cells was for 600!  I really thought it was a hoax, particularly when the guy said he was travelling from the deep south with a chocolate cake for a Saturday a.m. cuppa!   Well, I got heaps of referrals from that outfit.

I then shifted to Leeston, Mid Canterbury, which fortuitously coincided with the breakup of the Airborne Honey beekeeping operation.  All the ABH guys were excellent beekeepers and I ended up with all of them as my customers.  I was based at a large local extraction plant, hence more customers.  I have really great commercial referees, and some of my customers I have retained for 20 years.  The local guys get smaller amounts of cells, but those from long distances generally 70 or 144.  Over the years, I have produced tens of thousands of queen cells. 

So now I have got so much to tell regarding beekeeping, and it has come to a time to change tack and decelerate.  Below are my course dates, with instructions on how to make contact for more information and registration.

Cheers.  Maggie 

Maggie April 201915534.pdf ABC Editorial.pdf

• Like 2

QUEEN CELL PRODUCTION TUTORIAL

BRIDGMAN ROOM, THE ARTS VILLAGE, 1240 HINEMARU ST, ROTORUA

SUNDAY 30 JUNE, COMMENCING 9.30 A.M