CHCHPaul

May 2019 Apiary Diary

So, today I was cleaning bottom boards, replacing staples and assessing stores in my late splits. Basically wintering them down, but also marking newish queens. 

On the whole it was a successful mission on a beautiful Chch day. I was really enjoying myself, particularly after yesterday’s (mistaken) discovery of AFB (thanks to those who gave opinions and advice - I’m still learning heaps). 

Anyways, the last nuc for the day was full of bees, pleanty of brood and lots of eggs in a good pattern indicating my month old mated queen was going strong. Found her on the third frame and went to pick her up, just like the rest that day, missed her, tried again and she flew away! Yup, just flew away. What a surprise!!

1 hour ago, CHCHPaul said:

missed her, tried again and she flew away! Yup, just flew away. What a surprise!!

I think that calls for the word used in the Toyota Adverts.

Did you relocate her?

• Like 1

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, CHCHPaul said:

So, today I was cleaning bottom boards, replacing staples and assessing stores in my late splits. Basically wintering them down, but also marking newish queens. 

On the whole it was a successful mission on a beautiful Chch day. I was really enjoying myself, particularly after yesterday’s (mistaken) discovery of AFB (thanks to those who gave opinions and advice - I’m still learning heaps). 

Anyways, the last nuc for the day was full of bees, pleanty of brood and lots of eggs in a good pattern indicating my month old mated queen was going strong. Found her on the third frame and went to pick her up, just like the rest that day, missed her, tried again and she flew away! Yup, just flew away. What a surprise!!

It's not that uncommon with new queens 

She will quite likely be in the hive next time you look 👍😉

Edited by M4tt
  • Thanks 1

1 hour ago, Mummzie said:

Did you relocate her?