Lincoln Farmer

Canterbury TBH bee keeper wanted

I am a farmer with 125 hectares in Greenpark 5min from Lincoln looking for a top bar hive beekeeper who would like to have hives on the farm as an investment. I am interested in buying all honey and preferably honey comb. I can provide at least 2 tbh hives and could build more, land, processing shed, can buy all honey produced.

Edited by Lincoln Farmer

Top bar hives, beloved by the alternative beekeepers and tolerated by the bees. The type of hive you have is your choice but you will have happier and more productive bees that are a lot easier to manage if you go for conventional hives. Top bar hives were not originally used because they were better or more natural, they were used in Kenya because everyone could get hold of half an oil drum and some sticks. It made them cheaper not better.

Why would the Bees be less happy in a TBH? I know it produces less but am ok with that, and value having the complete natural comb for my customers rather than just the honey.

Hi there. I am interested. Could I give you a call to discuss to see if we can make something work? 

If you look at my profile my phone number should be there. 

1 minute ago, YoungBee said:

If you look at my profile my phone number should be there. 

Hi @YoungBee, I'm curious to know how you are a Bee Breeder but not a DECA holder? Breeding bees (well) takes years of experience and you only need to have kept bees for one (maybe two) years to get your DECA...

22 minutes ago, Lincoln Farmer said:

Why would the Bees be less happy in a TBH? I know it produces less but am ok with that, and value having the complete natural comb for my customers rather than just the honey.