ETNZ

Top Bar Nuc’s

Hi all, first post here from me and probably one of many. I am totally new to bee keeping with the exception of a very limited contact with bees at my old secondary school some 40 years ago. Ok, so a total newbie on the block. I have looked at hives and think the top bar is probably the best fit for me. First question and starter for ten, is there any reason why the walls of the hive are generally given as 1 inch thick? I have a lot of 12mm ply around which could easily be put to use. Second question, I note that Janet Luke has unfortunately had to give up and I was looking to source a nuc or two from her. Does anyone know where I can obtain nucs for TBH’s. do they need to be specifically for top bars orbs it possible,or even feasible to brush the bees from standard frame setups into the new hive with feed and expect them to get on with it?

looking forward to hearing from you.

cheers Eric

1 hour ago, ETNZ said:

Hi all, first post here from me and probably one of many. I am totally new to bee keeping with the exception of a very limited contact with bees at my old secondary school some 40 years ago. Ok, so a total newbie on the block. I have looked at hives and think the top bar is probably the best fit for me. First question and starter for ten, is there any reason why the walls of the hive are generally given as 1 inch thick? I have a lot of 12mm ply around which could easily be put to use. Second question, I note that Janet Luke has unfortunately had to give up and I was looking to source a nuc or two from her. Does anyone know where I can obtain nucs for TBH’s. do they need to be specifically for top bars orbs it possible,or even feasible to brush the bees from standard frame setups into the new hive with feed and expect them to get on with it?

looking forward to hearing from you.

cheers Eric