Which way do I vote on the honey levy ?

As a hobbyist I have no financial interest in the proposed honey commodity levy, nor do I have any interest in joining ApiNZ.

I'd like some direction please from those with skin in the game as to which way they would like me to exercise my right to vote.

• Like 1
  • Agree 1
  • Replies 151
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Given ApiNZ do not represent the majority of bee keeping enterprises the above is no surprise. @ApiNZ Science & Research perhaps you can offer some insight as to how it is ApiNZ feel so free

Thanks for the answer. in you initial post you said  “our key stakeholders have made it clear that they wish to see a more united and engaged industry” what I’m asking is who are these already

It has occurred to me , and correct me If I am wrong , that a lot of the issues with modern bee keeping are caused by over stocking . Caused by modern corporate bee keeping practices , who now wa

@Otto is correct. You only get a vote if you produce honey commercially. Upside: if you produce honey for yourself there is no extra cost. 

Quote: Who is eligible to vote and what is the voting process? • All New Zealand producers of honey extracted for commercial use in the 12 months to 30 September 2018 • Under the Commodity Levies Act, Apiculture New Zealand must demonstrate over 50% industry support for the introduction of a commodity levy. A result in favour of the commodity levy will occur if: - the ‘YES’ votes equal more than half of all votes cast, AND - the total kilograms of honey produced by those who voted ‘YES’ equals more than half of the total amount of honey produced by all those who voted