Jeff Twigge

Document Waxed Plastic Frames

Hi all. new here so bear with me. I'm a hobbyist that is looking to expand. looking to buy a couple of pallets of plastic frames but unsure which way to go. 2 options is to buy pre-waxed frames from Ecroteck or Ceracell or to buy the blank frames and wax myself - buying the wax in from a reputable beekeeper. Here is my dilemma - I've never had AFB and want to minimize the risk, so my question is am I more at risk of contracting AFB from buying pre-waxed frames (from wax that came from who knows where?); or waxing myself from a credible source? 

4 minutes ago, Jeff Twigge said:

am I more at risk of contracting AFB from buying pre-waxed frames (from wax that came from who knows where?); or waxing myself from a credible source? 

Wax is held to be a very low AFB risk. Welcome to the forum.  9_9

• Agree 1

Welcome along @Jeff Twigge As @yesbut has said, wax is very low risk.  Possibly just as expensive whichever way you go.  Pre waxed frames are what they are and no work load.

Un waxed frames are cheaper but you need to buy in the wax and then do all the work of waxing the frames. What is your labour unit costings.

I prefer to wax my own frames as I put on more wax and I have my own wax.  You are saying you have to buy the wax in @ around $20 plus Kg.

Here is how I do it.

When we wax (dip in molten wax) frames we get approx 120grams on each frame, Ecroteck or Ceracell's frames are sprayed with mix of wax & an oil (probably canola). Ecroteck's pre-waxed frames are now better than they once were, but I'm uneasy as to whether the 30g is enough.  I have seen that if the coating of wax on the frame is very thin the comb & honey will easily peel of the plastic frame. 

3 hours ago, Julian_Taverner said: