BrentG

DIY Bee super

Hi folks. I am a new hobbyist with one hive in central Auckland. I have been here a while but just fascinated to read  and learn before bursting into song.

Anyway. Does anyone DIY their own hive box's, either full or 3/4? If so, where do you buy your timber? I thought that surely I could make a simple frame box at less cost but If I buy from Bunnings and Mitre 10  the project is not worth the cost ?. I know it's easy to just buy a kit set but being able to make your own appeals to my kiwi culture (dumb as they may be). Appreciate any comments.

Thanks.

Welcome along @BrentG, the boyz with expensive toys (but darling, sweetie, honey, it's essential workshop equipment) will be along soon. 

• Haha 1

You can always get cheap timber if you buy enough. Making 1 or 2 boxes is fun but not cost effective. Have A look at my videos. I did a series of about 6 videos on box making. Enjoy.

BTW when you can produce boxes for less than $10.00 including buying the timber. Let us know.  That is harder than making the boxes 

• Agree 1

You could always build up boxes out of free pallet wood.....make sure inside dimensions are spot on and it doesn't matter what the outside is like

eg with vertical battens to fabricate 240 widths out of pallet strips...some pallets are quite good quality Baltic pine...

Edited by yesbut

38 minutes ago, BrentG said:

Anyway. Does anyone DIY their own hive box's,

used to including cutting the trees down, getting it milled etc.

however even when the trees are free, you can buy the timber cheaper.

for most of it you can buy kitsets cheaper.

if you happen to have all the wood working gear you could do it cheaper assuming you can find good timber and be able to store it well.

most of the guys that i know that do their own are usually using other types of timbers or their own personal designs that suits them.

Thank you. Good vids Trev. I have seen all of them, and bulk buying I guess. pallets.. Good idea.