dansar

Cheaper ways to secure hives (strapping)

Here’s is a cheaper and fairly long lasting solution to securing hive boxes together. The other alternative is ratchet or camlock straps or emlock straps, both are very good systems but I always like looking for an alternative (cheaper way?) to do something. I know some beekeepers use the poly strapping that is either the blue or black one. This doesn’t have very good UV resistance and eventually breaks down, which is fine because it’s a cheap strap anyway. Usually it is only tensioned hand tight. If an over zealous animal rubs up against the hive it is more likely to separate when it topples over. 
I have been using Poly woven strapping for many years in the timber industry.  This strapping is UV resistant and uses heavy duty metal buckles. Couple these components with a manual tensioner and you have a very well secured hive. When it comes to opening the hive again all that is required is the hive tool to slip under the buckle and lift up (as shown in the photo) to cause the strapping to loosen. Use the tensioner to tighten again after closing up the hive. Also, just use the tensioner in such a way that you buy-pass the strap cutter as you’ll need to keep the extra length to use as additional boxes are added through spring and summer.
Yes it does taken a fraction longer to tighten up the strap vs using an emlock or ratchet strap but at around half the price across 100 colonies and cheaper again after the initial purchase price as you won’t need to buy the tensioner or buckles for a while (buckles are sold in lots of 1000) it certainly makes it a very attractive option for securing hives.

87AE2059-1773-438F-9448-FDB0A1EC7BF1.jpeg

029811AD-56C8-484C-854F-D11B33FD8EA7.jpeg

6575C7C4-C7D1-45AA-ABE5-A2AFB5B925AF.jpeg

0BEF18D6-4749-4FB4-86A7-729AC0E204F5.jpeg

45A10570-AC27-406C-9055-5BC490EEF420.jpeg

A6E30D28-1483-4153-BF59-44F5A869BA21.jpeg

• Like 7
  • Thanks 1
  • Agree 1
  • Good Info 2

Hi Dan,