Tomm

NZBF Queenless hive.. Any hope?

Hive is Queenless but 10 days ago saw queen cell with egg. If I wait another 10days will there be a chance I may have a mated queen.? . Only has about 2 frames of Bees and no brood. Has 2 brood box and 1 honey super.. OK if on a warm day I remove super and queen excluder.?  Making sure I have 8 frames honey (Which I have) what chance do you give me of lasting the winter or should I get a nuc/queen in spring? 

I’m a beginner but that doesn’t sound good.

From egg to hatching is about 16 days and mating and laying takes a further couple of weeks. From your description it sounds like an uncapped queen cell? Capping happens at about day 9, so it’s a about a month after that before you can open up and hope to have a laying queen.

Can you combine the frames with a stronger hive (after a thorough disease check?).

They certainly need to be brought down to an appropriate sized hive. The entrance needs to be reduced right down to be tiny (1 bee at a time going in or out). Any ideas as to why they are so weak? Disease? Robbing?

Edited by cBank
  • Agree 1

That hive needs to be in a NUC box.  Did you actually see a queen cell or just see an egg.

When was your last varroa treatment. What was it.

It is almost too late now to save a hive.  Bees are reducing in size now, not expanding so it is very difficult to get the bees to expand.

2 hours ago, Trevor Gillbanks said:

It is almost too late now to save a hive.  

Its not too late to get the last couple queens mated though, right? I’ve still got plenty of drones