Suniti

Requeen

Hi,

This is my first year of bee keeping.I want to replace my queen(at least two years old). what is the best way to do it without killing her?

I did a split 3 weeks ago. In the new hive the new queen stated to lay couple days ago. I want to put the new queen in the original hive where there are more bees( to replace the old queen). How shall I introduce the new queen to the original hive? And what shall I do with the old queen, I don't want to kill her.

Thank you for your help in advance.

Suniti

You could take both queens out and leave them in separate queen cages with sugar and attendants in a cool place for a day, then swap the queens around?

So your big hive gets new queen and nuc gets old queen.

58 minutes ago, Suniti said:

what shall I do with the old queen, I don't want to kill her.

why?

Hi Tristan,

Because I think the old queen has been hard working contributing to the hive, like all the other bees, I don't want to kill her when she is less valued, I know it sounds sentimental and I do accidentally kill bees when checking hive.I wonder how the queen dies naturally in nature? 

Thanks for your reply Qkrwogud,"You could take both queens out and leave them in separate queen cages with sugar and attendants in a cool place for a day, then swap the queens around?

So your big hive gets new queen and nuc gets old queen."

If I swap the old queen to the nuc, will she swam next year ? what shall i expect of her(how long will she live) and the nuc/ the price i have to pay for not killing her?

Thanks,

Suniti

28 minutes ago, Suniti said:

I wonder how the queen dies naturally in nature? 

new queen hatches then goes and kills the old queen.

or the bees let the old queen live and once the new queen is laying well they starve the old queen to death.

Ok , here’s how you do it . I get it . Hobbiests get attached to their queens.