Alex

Stolen hives

Hi, last night 45 nucs that I had at an orchard in Brown Rd Te Puke were stolen from me. This is a very bad thing as this is my first year as a full time beekeeper and I needed for everything to go according to the plan. They were in white corflute boxes. If anyone hears about something I'll appreciate the help. It's sad to think that other beekeepers who know how hard it is sometimes decide to do something like this. Cheers and thank you.

• Sad 13

That sucks,  sorry to hear. Hope you find them

• Thanks 1
  • Agree 1

That's stink

• Thanks 1

@Alex keep an eye on trademe. Are you in the habit of writing on hive lids? Any identifying marks we should look out for? 

• Like 1

Have you reported this to Police?  Sadly its at the point where with that quantity of easily transportable boxes you need tracking equipment on them/cameras etc to watch over your investment. :-(  

• Like 1

It's been reported to the police and they were marked but it would be easy for them to put them in wooden boxes and chuck away the plastic ones. On the same place I had 2 wooden boxes and they didn't take them. Next year I'll have to consider an insurance to provide pollination at the same orchard because it's not safe

That really sux. I hope the police are able to help. 

• Agree 1

Close to the Expressway, check with Them to see if any movement was noticed last night. Might be the route used for direct escape. I lost 54 hives last season and the police weren't helpful neither were the local beekeepers Assc. Almost have to sluthe the culprits on your own sad to say. 

• Sad 1

On 11/11/2017 at 10:19 AM, CHCHPaul said:

That really sux. I hope the police are able to help.