Sale price for strong single hives

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Prices seem to vary quite a bit as far as I've seen (beekeeping under a year so don't assume I'm an expert)

If I was in your shoes I'd check out TradeMe to see what the going rate is, and then hold out until the spring buildup so there's a bit of buyer competition and hopefully you could get a better price per hive.

Prices seem to vary quite a bit as far as I've seen (beekeeping under a year so don't assume I'm an expert)

If I was in your shoes I'd check out TradeMe to see what the going rate is, and then hold out until the spring buildup so there's a bit of buyer competition and hopefully you could get a better price per hive.

If they're already strong hives, try advertising them now while the competition is low. Sometimes word of mouth is good, especially if someone is wanting to build up their existing hive numbers. Personally when I buy hives, I avoid Trademe preferring to buy from idividuals with realistic prices.

I have had a poor season and may have to sell some hives to cover costs.

What is a good price for quality hives with stainless steel mesh bottom boards that have a third treatment in them and have plenty of stores?

Kia kaha bro, I've read a few of your posts lately and I think your one of the good ones who has a genuine interest and passion for bees.

It saddens me to see there are good beekeepers selling their bees to make ends meet.

I hope you have a better season next year and that you get a fair price for your hives.

• Like 4

Hey Bud,

It used to be said the price of a hive was equal to the value it could generate in a season.

Northland hives might be quiet expensive from what I read.

One things for sure, dont sell them too cheap, just yet.